The Tallinn Mechanism officially formalized

As endorsed by the Foreign Ministries of Canada, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, The Netherlands, Poland, Sweden, United Kingdom and the United States on 20 December 2023, the Tallinn Mechanism officially formalized.

As a result of Russia's unprovoked war of aggression against Ukraine, the Tallinn Mechanism, hereafter referred to as “The Mechanism”, aims to coordinate and facilitate civilian cyber capacity building to help Ukraine uphold its fundamental right to self-defence in cyber space, and address longer-term cyber resilience needs.

The Mechanism’s lines of efforts are intended to be separate, yet complementary, to military cyber capacity-building efforts and civilian efforts on digital development. The Mechanism aims to interface routinely with other donor initiatives around those efforts to coordinate and de-conflict.

Collectively, the Mechanism’s members have contributed efforts to deliver cyber capacity building assistance to Ukraine. These have been carried out with respect for international law and in full coordination with relevant Ukrainian counterparts.

Members of The Mechanism intend to improve coordination and delivery of civilian cyber capacity building. Members intend to be engaged with the EU and NATO in this regard. Private sector and non-governmental actors are also encouraged to contribute to the Mechanism.