Curriculum Vitae

Personal details

Full name: Jeroen René Victor Anton Dijsselbloem
Place and date of birth: Eindhoven, 29 March 1966
Place of residence: Wageningen
Civil status: partner, two children


1985: Secondary school, Eindhoven
1985-1991: Degree in agricultural economics, Wageningen University (majors: business economics, agricultural policy and social and economic history)
1991: Business economics research towards a master’s degree, University College Cork, Ireland


In 1992 Jeroen Dijsselbloem worked as an assistant to the Dutch Labour Party (PvdA) Members of the European Parliament in Brussels. He joined the staff of the parliamentary PvdA in The Hague in 1993, where he worked for three years as a policy officer in the area of spatial planning (including the environment, agriculture and nature).

Mr Dijsselbloem sat on the Wageningen municipal council from 1994 to 1997.

In 1996, he became a political-administrative adviser to the Minister of Agriculture, Nature Management and Fisheries in The Hague, a position he held for two years. He was then appointed deputy head of that ministry’s advisory section, where he remained until 2000.

Jeroen Dijsselbloem was a member of the House of Representatives from 28 March 2000 to 22 May 2002 and from 19 November 2002 until taking up his post as minister. He was the party’s spokesperson on youth care, appropriate education and special education, policy on teachers, and the Education Inspectorate. From 25 April 2007 to 22 December 2008 he chaired the parliamentary investigation committee on educational reform.

On 5 November 2012 Mr Dijsselbloem was appointed Minister of Finance in the Rutte-Asscher government.

After elections in The Netherlands on March 15 2017 he is also member of the House of Representatives. He was already member of the House of Representatives from 2000 until taking up his post as minister. Dijsselbloem has been a member of the political party PvdA.

Party political positions and outside activities

Mr Dijsselbloem has been a member of the PvdA since 1985. He became the deputy leader of the PvdA parliamentary party in 2008. He was a member of the party’s election programme committee in 2010 and in 2012.

Jeroen Dijsselbloem was elected Eurogroup President for a second term on 13 July 2015 by the euro area finance ministers. He was elected Eurogroup President for the first time on 21 January 2013. Dijsselbloem is the second person to hold the post since the Eurogroup was founded.

Since 11 February 2013 he has also served as Chair of the Board of Governors of the European Stability Mechanism (ESM).