Dijsselbloem new Eurogroup President

Today, Minister Dijsselbloem has been appointed by the Eurogroup as its President. Dijsselbloem succeeds Jean-Claude Juncker from Luxembourg, who has chaired the Eurogroup since January 1, 2005.

Dijsselbloem: “It is a distinct honor to have been given this responsibility in these challenging economic times. I want to thank my colleagues for their trust and confidence. I will work hard together with them with the goal to achieve a quick further recovery of confidence in the euro area. I would like to express my appreciation for Jean-Claude Juncker's great commitment with which he has lead the Eurogroup during these very difficult years.”