Curriculum Vitae Mona Keijzer

Mona Keijzer
State Secretary for Economic Affairs and Climate Policy

Personal details

Full name: Maria Cornelia Gezina Keijzer
Place and date of birth: Edam, 9 October 1968
Place of residence: Edam-Volendam
Civil status: married, five children


1981-1987: Secondary education, St Werenfridus, Hoorn
1987-1992: Law and public administration, University of Amsterdam
1992-1997: Dutch law, University of Amsterdam
2006: Legal traineeship and mediation training


Mona Keijzer began her career in January 1991 as a legal policy officer serving the municipality of Waterland. From 1993 to 1994 she was a management trainee at Leiden University. She then held legal positions at the Gelderland Environment Inspectorate and the municipality of Almere.

In 1998 Ms Keijzer became a member of the municipal executive and deputy mayor of the municipality of Waterland. In 2006 she began working as a lawyer and certified mediator at the law firm Abma Schreurs Advocaten en Notarissen in Purmerend. In 2007 she became a member of the Purmerend municipal executive.

In 2012 Ms Keijzer became a member of parliament for the Christian Democratic Alliance (CDA), with policy responsibility for chronic care for older and disabled people, and later became spokesperson for hospital care and asylum, migration and integration policy.

On 26 October 2017 Mona Keijzer was appointed State Secretary for Economic Affairs and Climate Policy in the third Rutte government.

Party political positions and outside activities

Ms Keijzer was a member of the CDA strategic council (which in 2012 presented proposals to take the party in a new direction over the next 10 to 15 years), served on the general board of the North Holland CDA, and chaired the national CDA party committee for the 2010 municipal elections. She was also deputy chair of the committee for the 2002 municipal elections. From 1994 to 1998 she was a member of the Waterland municipal council for the CDA, spending the last two years as leader of the CDA group.

Other roles she has held include secretary of the board of the Wethoudersvereniging (the association of members of municipal executives), member of the general board of the Hoogheemraadschap Uitwaterende Sluizen (a water authority) and chair and member of the supervisory board of the Stichting CPOW (a group of Christian primary schools).