Fourth Rutte government sworn in

This morning, the fourth Rutte government was sworn in at Noordeinde Palace. The new government is a coalition made up of the VVD, D66, CDA and the Christian Union and comprises 20 ministers and 9 state secretaries.

Enlarge image Bordesfoto kabinet-Rutte IV
Image: Valerie Kuypers
The ministers of the new cabinet on the steps of Noordeinde Palace after they were sworn in in the presence of His Majesty King Willem-Alexander.

The swearing-in ceremony in the presence of His Majesty King Willem-Alexander marks the official start of the fourth Rutte government’s term in office.

The People’s Party for Freedom and Democracy (VVD) has 8 ministers and 3 state secretaries in the new government. Democrats ’66 (D66) has 6 ministers and 3 state secretaries, the Christian Democratic Alliance (CDA) has 4 ministers and 2 state secretaries, while the Christian Union has 2 ministers and 1 state secretary.

Ministries and ministerial positions

The ministries in the fourth Rutte government are unchanged from the previous government. However, four new ministerial positions have been created:

  • Minister for Climate and Energy Policy
  • Minister for Nature and Nitrogen Policy
  • Minister for Housing and Spatial Planning
  • Minister for Poverty Policy, Participation and Pensions.

Coalition agreement

All the new government’s plans are set out in the coalition agreement of 15 December 2021, entitled ‘Looking out for each other, looking ahead to the future’.

First cabinet meeting

The new government will hold its first cabinet meeting later today.