Economic opportunities in the Caribbean

In a policy memorandum sent to the House of Representatives today, the government says that it is taking a fresh look at the Caribbean region and is keen to find economic opportunities for all parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Caribbean countries can provide a springboard for business in the wider region, which includes such growing economies as those of Brazil, Mexico, Panama and Colombia.

Following the constitutional reforms of 10 October 2010, the Kingdom of the Netherlands is now made up of four countries: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and St Maarten. The islands of Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba are now public bodies of the Netherlands. These developments mean that part of the Netherlands is now in the Caribbean.

‘As a minister of the Kingdom, I can open doors for all our four countries,’ said Uri Rosenthal, Minister of Foreign Affairs. ‘Through synergy between the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and St Maarten we can set our sights on business and trade with Central and Latin America, and strengthen the Kingdom as a whole.’

The Netherlands will also continue its active efforts to boost security in the Caribbean, especially in the fight against illegal activities such as drugs smuggling, human trafficking and money laundering. To this end, the Kingdom is making agreements with the Organisation of American States (OAS). It is also working in partnership with a range of organisations and countries on climate change and its consequences.