Rutte-Asscher government sworn in

Queen Beatrix has sworn in the Rutte-Asscher government. The new government comprises thirteen ministers and seven state secretaries.

It is a coalition of the People’s Party for Freedom and Democracy (VVD) and the Labour Party (PvdA), with seven ministers and three state secretaries from the former and six ministers and four state secretaries from the latter.

New ministerial posts

This government will include two new ministerial posts.

  • Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation (at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
  • Minister for Housing and the Central Government Sector (at the Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations)

There will no longer be a Minister for Immigration, Integration and Asylum Policy. Immigration and asylum policy will be the responsibility of the Ministry of Security and Justice, while integration will fall under the Ministry of Social Affairs and Employment.

Coalition agreement

The new coalition agreement is entitled ‘Building Bridges’, and it ‘reflects our search for the best of both worlds,’ according to the VVD and the PvdA.

The government’s financial and socioeconomic policy rests on three essential pillars: putting public finances in order, ensuring fair distribution and working for sustainable growth. Their aim is to help the Netherlands emerge stronger from the current crisis.

Detailed information on the new government’s plans can be found in the coalition agreement.