Important changes for travellers to the Netherlands as of September 4th 2021

At 00:01 on 4 September 2021 a number of important changes will come into effect for people travelling to the Netherlands. New countries have been designated as high-risk or very high-risk areas. Before travelling to the Netherlands, consult the Dutch travel advice for the country you are travelling from. The travel advice explains what requirements you must comply with.

Changes to list of safe countries within the EU

Within the EU, Germany and Hungary will be designated high-risk areas. This means that travellers from these countries will need to show a COVID certificate (proof of vaccination or recovery or a negative test result) when travelling to the Netherlands. This requirement will come into effect on 6 September 9:00. Consult the travel advice (in Dutch) to find out what documents you need to show.

Changes regarding countries outside the EU

As of 4 September 0:01 the following countries will be designated as a very high-risk area:

  • the United States
  • Israel
  • Kosovo
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia 


  • This means the EU entry ban will apply to these countries. People travelling from these countries will only be able enter the Netherlands if they are fully vaccinated or fall under one of the exemption categories for the EU entry ban.
  • They are also required to quarantine for 10 days on arrival as of 4 september 9:00.
  • As of 6 September 9:00, they must also show a negative test result. Proof of recovery or vaccination will no longer be sufficient.

Lebanon: high-risk area

Lebanon will be designated a high-risk area and fall under the EU entry ban as of 4 September 0:01, with fully vaccinated travellers exempt from the entry ban. The current COVID certificate requirement will remain unchanged.

Changes regarding countries where there is a variant of concern

As of 4 September 0:01 am, the category ‘very high-risk area where there is a variant of concern’ will cease to exist. Additional measures had been in place for the 16 countries in this category (South Africa and countries in South and Central America). As of 4 September 0:01 these countries will be moved to either the category 'high-risk area' or the category 'very high-risk area'.

Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay will be designated high-risk areas. Brazil, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Suriname, Venezuela and South Africa will be designated very high-risk areas.

As of 4 September 0:01, travellers who have been fully vaccinated or fall under one of the exemption categories for the EU entry ban will be able to enter the EU. The requirement for some travellers to show two negative test results will be lifted. However, other requirements still apply. People travelling from a high-risk area must show a COVID certificate (proof of vaccination or recovery or a negative test result) and the health declaration. People travelling from a very high-risk area must show a negative test result (proof of vaccination or recovery is not sufficient) and the health declaration, and must comply with the mandatory quarantine requirement.

The EU travel ban will come into effect at 4 september 0:01, the mandatory quarantine requirement at 4 september 9:00 and test obligations at 6 september 9:00.

More information

For more details, consult the checklist for entering or returning to the Netherlands. To find out if the mandatory self-quarantine requirement applies to you, consult the information about mandatory quarantine.