Appointments to Joint Court of Justice

Ms F.V.L.M. Giebels-Wannyn, Ms J.G.J. Schelling and Ms A.J. Martijn are to become trainee judges at the Joint Court of Justice of Aruba, Curaçao and St Maarten and of Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba. Following a proposal put forward by Minister of Security and Justice Ard van der Steur, the Council of Ministers for the Kingdom has decided to nominate all three for appointment as deputy judges at the Joint Court of Justice.

Ms Giebels-Wannyn (born in 1976), Ms Schelling (born in 1980) and Ms Martijn (born in 1972) all began their judicial training at the Court of First Instance of Curaçao in 2015. As part of their training, it is desirable that they gain practical experience of hearings. To do so, they must first be granted the formal authority to preside over hearings as judges, under the supervision and with the guidance of their trainers.

Ms Martijn will begin her role as deputy judge on 1 August 2015. The other two nominees will be appointed shortly, on an as yet unconfirmed date later this year.