More security regions introduce coronavirus containment measures

In close cooperation with eight security regions, the Dutch government has announced additional measures to prevent the spread of the coronavirus. The measures will take effect at 18:00 on Sunday 27 September.

Additional measures in eight security regions

The additional measures already apply in the six security regions of Amsterdam-Amstelland, Rotterdam-Rijnmond, Haaglanden, Utrecht, Kennemerland and Central Holland.

The eight security regions where the additional measures will now take effect are:

  • Groningen
  • Brabant North
  • Brabant South-East
  • South Holland South
  • Gooi- en Vechtstreek
  • Flevoland
  • Zaanstreek-Waterland
  • Gelderland South

Measures for all security regions

The following measures apply across all 14 security regions:

  • Venues with a catering establishment licence may welcome no new guests after midnight. The music will be turned off at that time as well. These venues must close at 01:00.
  • Groups may not exceed 50 people. This applies to gatherings such as parties, drinks and outings, both indoors and outdoors. There are a number of exceptions to this rule, such as demonstrations, religious gatherings, funerals, and dance and theatre rehearsals.
  • Gatherings of more than 50 people are subject to a reporting requirement. This applies to events like public concerts held in a park.

The following venues and gatherings are exempted from the reporting requirement:

  • Venues with a catering establishment license
  • Religious gatherings
  • Markets and supermarkets
  • Shops
  • Libraries
  • Cultural organisations
  • Similar locations with a flow of visitors

In addition, separate measures apply to each security region. An overview of all measures is available on (this information will be updated once the measures have been announced in the security regions).