Cyber Security Council invested

Minister Opstelten of Security and Justice today officially invested the Cyber Security Council (CSR). Under the shared chairmanship of Eelco Blok (CEO KPN) and Erik Akerboom (NCtb), the Council will have the duty of providing advice to the government and private parties, upon request and at its own initiative, concerning relevant developments in the field of digital security. The Council will set priorities in the approach to IT threats, assess the need for further research & development, and examine how this knowledge can subsequently be shared best with cooperating public and private parties. In the performance of its duties, the Council will devote explicit attention to core values, such as the importance of privacy or fundamental rights such as the freedom of speech and gathering information.

The investment of the Cyber Security Council arises directly from the National Cyber Security Strategy that was offered to the Lower House on behalf of the Minister earlier this year.

Such a public-private risk assessment will form the basis for the advice to be issued by the Council. The first threat analysis in the field of cyber security is expected in October.

The Council is composed on the basis of the wish for a balanced composition from the public sector, the private sector and the world of science on the one hand and, on the other hand, a bandwidth for themes and perspectives relevant to cyber security that is as broad as possible.

The Council consists of the following members:

  • Eelco Blok, co-chairman of the Council, CEO KPN;
  • Erik Akerboom, co-chairman. National Coordinator for Counterterrorism
  • Harry van Dorenmalen, on behalf of the IT suppliers, chairman IT~Office and Chairman IBM Europe
  • RenĂ© Steenvoorden, on behalf of the major IT end users, chairman CIO Platform and CIO Rabobank
  • Frank Heemskerk, on behalf of the end users and SMEs, chairman of the ECP-EPN Supervisory Board and member of RVB Royal Haskoning;
  • Ben Voorhorst, on behalf of the vital infrastructure, operational director Tennet and member of RVB Tennet;
  • Professor Corien Prins, Tilburg University;
  • Mark Dierikx, DG Energie, Telecom and Competition, Ministry of Economic Affairs, Agriculture and Innovation;
  • Mark van Nimwegen, Board of Prosecutors General, cyber crime portfolio holder;
  • Professor Michel van Eeten, TU Delft;
  • Major General Koen Gijsbers, Chief Director Information Provision and Organisation, Ministry of Defence;
  • Professor Bart Jacobs, Radboud University Nijmegen;
  • Ruud Bik, KLPD Chief Constable;
  • Jan Kees Goet, deputy Head AIVD;

The investment of the Cyber Security Council is the prelude to the National Cyber Security Centre that is to be operational from 1 January 2012. Tactical and operational knowledge and expertise from the public and private sector is brought together here to provide insight into developments, threats and trends, and to offer support in incident settlement and crisis decision-making in the field of digital security.