Évaluation de la coopération au sein de l’Union Benelux du point de vue des Pays-Bas

The Benelux Union (BU) is an intergovernmental organisation consisting of three Member States: Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg. In 2008 the three countries signed a new basic treaty for the Benelux cooperation that, according to the Dutch government, would increase the political guidance of the cooperation, the thematic focus and the flexibility to respond to new challenges.

In response to a request by the Dutch parliament, the Policy and Operations Evaluation Department (IOB) of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands assessed the added-value of the Benelux Union and the benefits that it generates for Dutch citizens. IOB also analysed whether the aspired improvements are being realised in practice. This report contains the findings of this evaluation and formulates points of attention for the future.