Final six candidates for Human Rights Tulip announced

The final six candidates for the Human Rights Tulip 2014 have been announced. The jury, headed by former UN Special Rapporteur on the right to freedom of opinion and expression, Frank La Rue, will judge the nominations and advise the Minister of Foreign Affairs.

The three favourites following the public vote are: YASunidos (Ecuador), Chidi Odinkalu (Nigeria) and Euromaidan SOS (Ukraine).Sixty thousand votes were cast for a total of 30 nominees, setting a new record.

Three ‘wild cards’ also made it into the final selection: International Campaign for Human Rights in Iran (ICHRI), Elena Klimova (Russia) and Mideast Youth.

Besides Mr La Rue, the jury comprises Professor Barbara Oomen, Kenyan writer and activist Binyavanga Wainaina, Georgian lawyer Tamar Chugoshvili and Pakistani activist Shahzad Ahmad. The Minister of Foreign Affairs will decide the winner after taking the jury’s advice into account.

The Human Rights Tulip is an annual prize for individuals who work in an innovative way to defend human rights. On 9 December, the winner will receive a tulip-shaped bronze sculpture and a €100,000 prize from the Minister of Foreign Affairs.