European Electronic Toll Service (EETS)

The countries within the European Union each have their own system for the payment of tolls.  This results in extra costs and administration for road users. The European Union is introducing a single electronic system for the payment of tolls: the European Electronic Toll Service (EETS).

The EETS will go into effect for goods vehicles on 8 October 2012 and on 8 October 2014 for other vehicles.

Different toll collection systems

Several European countries are already using electronic toll systems but these systems are not aligned with one another. This means that for international journeys, lorry drivers are required to have a multitude of on-board equipment in their vehicles. Some countries, like Austria and Switzerland, use a vignette system instead of on-board equipment.

European Electronic Toll Service (EETS)

The use of different systems results in extra costs (for example, for different on-board equipment), administrative burdens and time losses. The European Union (EU) has therefore decided to introduce the European Electronic Toll Service (EETS).

EETS register

Every Member State of the EU must keep an up-to-date register of the roads within its territory on which tolls are levied via the EETS, and of registered EETS providers. Given that the Netherlands has no roads on which tolls are levied, the Dutch register is empty. Currently there are no EETS provider registered in the Netherlands. Providers that wish to be registred as such can contact the RDW. 

Toll roads without EETS

Some types of toll roads do not fall under the EETS:

  • toll roads on which the toll is not collected via an electronic system;
  • toll roads on which the toll is collected via an electronic system but for which it is not necessary to have an on-board device;
  • small, local toll roads.