The Netherlands lifts travel ban for certain groups of travellers

Please note: this news item was published on 30 June. Read the current information about travelling to the Netherlands.

As of 1 July 2020, the Netherlands has lifted the travel ban for certain groups of travellers, allowing permanent (long-term) residents of the following countries to enter the Netherlands: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. The ban on travellers from China will be lifted once China allows entry to EU citizens.

The list of countries will be reviewed every 2 weeks (or sooner if necessary) on the basis of the number of new infections, among other things. The number of new infections must remain at or below approximately 19 per 100,000 inhabitants. Consideration will also be given to contact tracing efforts and the number of coronavirus tests carried out.

To prevent the spread of coronavirus, existing restrictions will remain in place for non-essential travel to Europe (all European Union member states, Schengen area countries and the United Kingdom) by individuals from all other countries. Individuals who are not permanent (long-term) residents of any of the countries listed above and who do not fall into any of the categories below may not enter the Netherlands.

Travel restrictions do not apply to the following groups of people:

  • EU citizens (including British nationals) and their family members
  • Nationals of Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, San Marino, Monaco, Vatican City and Andorra, and their family members
  • Third-country nationals who have a residence card or residence permit in accordance with EU Directive 2003/109/EC concerning long-term residents
  • Third-country nationals whose right of residence is derived from other EU directives or the national law of a member state
  • Holders of a long-stay visa, including those with an authorisation for temporary stay (MVV).

Third-country nationals who are key workers or have exceptional circumstances are also exempted. These are:

  • Healthcare professionals
  • Cross-border commuters
  • In so far as necessary, people working in the transport of goods, and other transport workers. These are people who work on container ships, bulk carriers (e.g. transporting ore or coal), tankers (e.g. transporting fuels and chemicals), fishing boats; people who work in the energy sector, i.e. on oil and gas platforms and at wind parks, and for off-shore companies that provide services to this sector; and flight crews
  • Diplomats
  • Members of the armed forces
  • Staff members of international and humanitarian organisations
  • People with compelling reasons to visit their family (exceptional cases). An exceptional case would be to visit a terminally ill family member and to attend their funeral. Family member is understood here to mean a first- or second-degree family member. Partners and children are first-degree family members, and grandchildren are second-degree
  • Transit passengers travelling to a third country via the Netherlands or another Schengen country
  • People who require international protection (normal border procedures apply)
  • People admitted on humanitarian grounds
  • Seafarers in possession of a seaman’s record book
  • Students
  • Highly skilled migrants.