Countries and regions

The Netherlands has a special relationship with certain countries in the field of development cooperation and works directly with the governments in question. The form this partnership takes varies from country to country.

Types of cooperation with developing countries

The countries with whose governments the Netherlands has a direct working relationship can be found in the following four focus regions: the Sahel, the Horn of Africa, the Middle East and North Africa. The form this partnership takes varies, depending on a country's specific needs, the added value of the Netherlands’ contribution, and relevance to the government’s overall policy framework.

  • Broad-based SDG relationship (Sustainable Development Goals)
    The Netherlands has a broad-based SDG relationship with 10 countries whose level of development is low. This entails organising activities related to various UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): education, employment, women’s rights, sexual health and reproductive rights, food, water, climate and the rule of law.
    Main focus areas include creating opportunities for young people and women. Activities are funded from money managed by the Dutch embassy, and from programmes specifically aimed at the country in question.
    The Netherlands has a broad SDG relationship with Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Uganda, Yemen, the Palestinian Territories, Afghanistan and Burundi.
  • Development relationship targeting specific objectives
    The Netherlands has a development relationship with 10 low- and middle-income countries that focus on an objective specific to that country. Examples include the reception of refugees in Lebanon and Jordan, reconstruction in Iraq and food security in Benin and Mozambique. With the exception of Lebanon, Jordan and Iraq, the Netherlands provides these countries with less money than countries with which it has a broad SDG relationship.
    The Netherlands has a relationship based on specific objectives with the following countries: Kenya, Somalia, Lebanon, Jordan, Iraq, Egypt, Tunisia, Benin, Mozambique and Bangladesh.
  • Development relationship as part of broader foreign policy
    The Netherlands has a limited partnership with a further 8 countries. The support provided to the following countries targets insecurity, instability and preventing irregular migration: Chad, Mauritania, Senegal, Nigeria, Sudan, Morocco, Algeria and Libya.

Phasing out the development relationship

The Netherlands is currently in the process of scaling down its development relationship with a number of countries. The development relationship with Indonesia and Ghana will end in 2020. Activities in Rwanda will end in the same year. These development relationships will be replaced with more intensive trade relations.

Plans for development cooperation with 27 countries

The Netherlands has development cooperation partnerships with 27 countries. A Multiannual Strategic Plan specifying development policy has been drawn up for each of these countries.

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Benin
  4. Burkina Faso
  5. Burundi
  6. Chad
  7. Congo
  8. Egypt
  9. Ethiopia
  10. Ghana
  11. The Great Lakes region
  12. Iraq
  13. Jordan
  14. Kenya
  15. Lebanon
  16. Mali
  17. Mozambique
  18. Niger
  19. Palestinian Territories
  20. Rwanda
  21. Senegal
  22. Somalia
  23. South Sudan
  24. Tanzania
  25. Tunisia
  26. Uganda
  27. Yemen