Twinning: grants for introduction of EU rules

European Union countries help candidate countries and new member states with the adoption of EU rules. EU countries also invest in security and stability in the EU’s neighbours through Twinning projects and TAIEX activities.

What is twinning?

Twinning is an EU instrument. It supports projects in which EU countries share expertise with candidate countries and neighbourhood countries. In this way Twinning brings together public sector expertise from these countries. The results that a project should achieve are set in advance. Twinning projects often last a number of years.

What is TAIEX?

TAIEX is an EU technical assistance and information exchange instrument. Through small-scale activities, TAIEX helps countries align their legislation with EU rules. It also helps them apply EU rules and facilitates the sharing of EU best practices. The instrument is demand-driven. TAIEX activities take the form of workshops, expert missions and study visits.

What countries qualify for Twinning or TAIEX?

Twinning and TAIEX assistance are open to public and semi-public sector organisations from the following countries:

Candidate countries and potential candidates

These countries are as follows:

  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Kosovo
  • North Macedonia
  • Montenegro
  • Serbia
  • Türkiye
  • Moldova
  • Ukraine.

Candidate countries and potential candidates are given support under the Instrument for Pre-accession Assistance.  

EU neighbourhood countries

This includes both the southern and eastern neighbours of the EU.

The EU's southern neighbours are:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestinian Territories
  • Tunisia.

The EU's eastern neighbours are:

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Georgia
  • Moldova
  • Ukraine
  • Belarus.

Neighbourhood countries are eligible for support under the Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation Instrument. 

The European Commission’s role

The European Commission is the commissioning authority for Twinning and TAIEX and therefore funds the projects. Policy for Twinning and TAIEX is determined at EU level. 

The Commission also delegates requests for Twinning or TAIEX assistance to EU member states through the network of National Contact Points.

The Netherlands’ role

As an EU member state, the Netherlands is involved in the implementation of Twinning projects. If a request is made for a project, a Dutch public or semi-public organisation can submit a proposal. Organisations from other EU member states can do so, too. The best proposal is selected.

Dutch civil servants can register as TAIEX experts. When the European Commission receives a request for a TAIEX activity, it selects someone who has registered as a TAIEX expert to carry it out.

Dutch National Contact Point for Twinning and TAIEX

You can get more information from the National Contact Point for Twinning and TAIEX at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.