Freedom of movement and residence within the EU/EEA and Switzerland

A national of the European Union (EU), European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland is allowed to live and work in the Netherlands without a visa or residence permit.

Travel, residence and work within the EU/EEA and Switzerland

The European Economic Area (EEA) is made up of: 

  • the countries of the European Union (EU)
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Iceland.

If a person is a national of one of these countries or of Switzerland, they can travel between these countries freely. They can also live and work in these countries without needing a visa, residence permit or work permit. 

They do require a valid passport or other travel document, however, and certain other conditions may apply. This includes not posing a threat to public order. All the necessary information can be found on the website of the Immigration and Naturalisation Service (IND). 

No civic integration requirement

People who are nationals of an EU/EEA country or Switzerland don’t have to comply with Dutch civic integration requirements.