The Netherlands closes its borders to persons from outside Europe

Please note: this news item was published on 18 March 2020. Read more about the current approach to tackling coronavirus in the Netherlands.

A restriction has been imposed concerning all non-essential travel by persons from third countries to Europe (i.e. all EU member states, all Schengen countries and the United Kingdom). The goal of this restriction is to combat the spread of coronavirus. The new measure means that anyone who does not fall into one of the exemption categories listed below will not be allowed into the Netherlands.

The restriction does not apply to the following categories of persons:

  • EU (and UK) citizens and their families;
  • Nationals of Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Liechtenstein and their families;
  • Nationals of third countries who possess a residence permit in accordance with the EU Directive concerning the status of third-country nationals who are long-term residents (2003/109/EC);
  • Nationals of third countries whose residence status is derived from other EU directives or from the national legislation of an EU member state;
  • Holders of a long-stay visa, including holders of an authorisation for temporary stay (machtiging tot voorlopig verblijf, MVV).
  • Persons who perform a crucial function or have imperative needs, including:
    • Medical personnel
    • Border staff
    • Goods transport workers, in so far as such transport is essential
    • Diplomats
    • Military personnel
    • Staff of international or humanitarian organisations
    • Individuals who have imperative reasons to visit family members
    • Transit passengers wishing to travel via the Netherlands to a third country
    • Individuals requiring international protection (border procedure will still apply in full)
    • Individuals eligible for entry owing to humanitarian considerations

In principle this restriction will be in force for 30 days.