What is Brexit?

Brexit is the name given to the United Kingdom’s departure from the European Union. It is a combination of ‘Britain’ and ‘exit’. 

Referendum: majority votes to leave

On 23 June 2016 the UK held a referendum on leaving the EU. Voters in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland voted ‘remain’ or ‘leave’ in response to the following question: ‘Should the United Kingdom remain a member of the European Union or leave the European Union’? 51.89% of voters voted to leave the EU.

UK will leave the EU on 29 March 2019

On 29 March 2017 the UK officially informed the EU of its intention to leave by invoking article 50 of the Treaty on European Union. The UK will leave the EU on 29 March 2019.

In the meantime, the UK and EU are negotiating the conditions of the UK’s departure and the form their future relationship will take. The UK and EU will negotiate the exact details of this new relationship after the UK’s departure.