European Union

The Netherlands is one of the 27 member states of the European Union (EU). We work with our fellow member states to ensure a strong Union. EU member states can join forces in a wide variety of areas, including trade, security, agriculture and fisheries, and the environment and climate. The Netherlands influences EU policy in all these areas.