When did the United Kingdom leave the European Union?

The United Kingdom left the European Union on 31 January 2020, at midnight (Dutch time).

The United Kingdom (UK) wanted to leave the European Union (EU) on 31 October 2019. To that end, the British government signed a withdrawal agreement with the EU. However, because the House of Commons had not yet approved the agreement, the UK requested another extension. For this reason, the 27 remaining EU countries and the British government decided to postpone Brexit until 31 January 2020 at the latest.

The House of Lords passed the European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill on 22 January, and it was then signed into law by Queen Elizabeth. The European Parliament approved the withdrawal agreement on 29 January.