The Netherlands is a parliamentary democracy. This means that all Dutch nationals who have the right to vote can choose who represent them in Parliament. Parliament (also known as the States General) consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. It scrutinises the government and is responsible, with the government, for enacting legislation. Legislation only comes into force after it has been passed by parliament. The government and individual ministers are accountable to parliament.