Public administration

Public administration in the Netherlands has four tiers: central government, the provinces, the municipalities and the water authorities.

By providing effective and efficient public administration that the people can trust, the Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations safeguards key democratic values.

In order to improve the Netherlands’ economic and financial prospects, the Government is committed to creating an effective, compact, service-driven and decisive public administration. Achieving compact government will require a more efficient division of tasks between its four tiers, better services, and more opportunities for citizens and society.