Municipalities participating in the experiment

Ten municipalities have been selected to participate in the Controlled Cannabis Supply Chain Experiment. All ‘coffee shops’ (the local term for cannabis cafés) in the participating municipalities must take part in the experiment.

10 participating municipalities

In August 2019 the advisory committee, chaired by Professor André Knottnerus, advised the Minister for Medical Care and Sport and the Minister of Justice and Security on which of the municipalities that indicated they were interested should participate in the experiment. The participating municipalities are:

  • Arnhem
  • Almere
  • Breda
  • Groningen
  • Heerlen
  • Voorne aan Zee
  • Maastricht
  • Nijmegen
  • Tilburg
  • Zaanstad

The committee’s recommendations are all set out in the report nominating municipalities for inclusion in the Controlled Cannabis Supply Chain Experiment (in Dutch). The government adopted the majority of the report’s recommendations and explained its reasoning in its response to the report.

Follow the developments of the experiment

To stay up to date you can register for newsletters (in Dutch) and sign up to receive documents (in Dutch) about the Controlled Cannabis Supply Chain Experiment.