The mayor and the portfolio holders administer the municipality. Together they form the municipal executive. The mayor also has a number of autonomous tasks and responsibilities, and chairs the municipal council.

The mayor is a member and the chair of the municipal executive. Mayors are also responsible for public order and safety in the municipality. They chair the municipal council, but are not members of it. Mayors are appointed by Royal Decree for 6 years. They are nominated by the Minister of the Interior and Kingdom Relations on the recommendation of the municipal council.