Which visa do I need to travel to the Netherlands?

If you want to stay in the Netherlands for less than 90 days, you may need a short-stay Schengen visa. Whether you need a visa to visit the Netherlands depends on your nationality.

No visa requirement

You do not require a visa if you are a national of:

  • a European Union (EU) country
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Switzerland.

However, certain conditions do apply. These can be found on the website of the Immigration and Naturalisation Service (IND).

Possible visa requirement

If you are not a national of one of the countries listed above, then you may need a short-stay Schengen visa. This allows you to stay in the Schengen area for a maximum of 90 days within a 180-day period. 

You can use the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Schengen Visa Advisor to see whether you need a visa or not. 

Even if you do not need a visa, you must still meet certain conditions in order to visit the Netherlands. These can be found on the website of Netherlands Worldwide.

Valid residence permit issued by another Schengen country

If you already have a valid residence permit for another Schengen country, you do not need a visa for the Netherlands for up to 90 days.

Other types of visa for the Netherlands

There are also other types of visa besides the short-stay Schengen visa. One example is an airport transit visa, which you may need if you are transiting through a Dutch airport.

You can find more information on visas for the Netherlands on www.netherlandsandyou.nl.