Image: ©Hollandse Hoogte

Secondary education

After completing primary school, pupils move on to one of three types of secondary education: pre-vocational secondary education (VMBO), senior general secondary education (HAVO) or pre-university education (VWO). Secondary education prepares pupils for secondary vocational education (MBO), higher professional education (HBO) or university education. In the lower years of secondary school, pupils follow a broad curriculum. Pupils in the upper years of HAVO and VWO choose one of four subject combinations. Pupils in the upper years of VMBO-T choose one of four sectors, while those in other VMBO programmes choose one profile from a total of 10.